ANA-NINDS Career Development Symposium



Schedule Subject to Change: The event’s operating hours, schedules, CME and speakers are subject to change or cancellation without notice. Refunds will be not issued for failure to attend the session.   

Note: All session times are listed in Eastern Daylight Time. CME is available for sessions with *.

2:00 PM - 2:30 PM Registration 
2:30 PM - 2:45 PM Welcome and Goals for the Meeting*  
Speaker: Lauren Sansing, MD, MS, FANA
2:45 PM - 3:15 PM View of NINDS Leadership 2023*
Speaker: Walter Koroshetz, MD, FANA, National Institute of Health (NIH), Director, NINDS
3:15 PM - 4:00 PM Setting Yourself up for Success*
Speakers: Tish Weigand, PhD, NINDS
4:00 PM - 4:45 PM Meet Your Peers and Colleagues Networking Sessions*
4:45 PM - 5:00 PM ANA Presidential Address*   
Speaker: M. Elizabeth Ross, MD, PhD, FANA, ANA President, Nathan Cummings Professor and Head, Laboratory of Neurogenetics and Development Director, Center for Neurogenetics Chair, Neuroscience Graduate Program Weill Cornell Medicine
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM K to Independence Panel - How I Did It*
Moderator: Alexandra Nelson, MD, PhD
Eric Landness, MD, PhD
Anli Liu, MD, MA
Mercedes Paredes, MD, PhD
William Stacey, MD, PhD
6:00 PM - 6:30 PM Leadership: Lessons from Academia and Life*  
Speaker: Nina Schor, MD, PhD, FANA, NIH
6:30 PM - 7:15 PM Buffet Dinner
7:15 PM - 8:45 PM Chairs View Panel*  
Moderator: Lauren Sansing, MD, MS, FANA

Tom Carmichael, MD, PhD, FANA
Amy Brooks-Kayal, MD, FANA
David Greer, MD, FANA
Thabele Bay Leslie-Mazwi, MD
Louise McCullough, MD, PhD, FANA
Dave Standaert, MD, PhD, FANA

8:45 PM Evening Wrap Up*  
Speaker: Lauren Sansing, MD, MS, FANA


7:00 AM - 8:00 AM Poster Set-Up and Breakfast 
8:00 AM - 9:00 AM Developing a Well-Funded Research Program and Building Your Portfolio*
Moderator: Annapurna Poduri, MD, MPH

Sarah Berman, MD, PhD
Henry Paulson, MD, PhD, FANA
Ellen Mowry, MD, MCR, FANA
Jin-Moo Lee, MD, PhD, FANA

9:00 AM - 9:15 AM Coffee Break and Head to Breakout Sessions
9:15 AM - 11:15 AM Breakout Session 1*   
1st – 2nd Year Awardees - Abstract for First Major Paper Discussion  
3rd – 5th Year Awardees - Aims Page for R01 Discussion
11:30 AM - 12:30 PM Industry, Philanthropy, Foundations, and other Financial Relationships*  
Moderator: David Greer MD, MA, FANA

Beau Ances, MD, PhD, MSc, FANA
Oren Becher, MD
Frances Jensen, MD, FACP, FANA

12:30 PM - 1:15 PM Lunch 
1:15 PM - 2:15 PM Building Collaborations: Developing and Sustaining Productive Relationships * 
Moderator: Barbara Vickrey, MD, MPH
Roy Hamilton, MD, MS, FANA
Romergryko Geocadin, MD, FANA
William Renthal, MD, PhD
Lesli Skolarus, MD, MS, FANA
2:15 PM - 2:30 PM Coffee Break and Head to Breakout Sessions
2:30 PM - 4:00 PM Breakout Session 2*   
“What are the Biggest Challenges you are Facing and How Can we Help Each Other?”
4:15 PM - 5:45 PM Moderated Poster Tours (CME not available)  
Cocktails & Refreshments will be available.
5:45 PM Adjourned 


The American Neurological Association is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The American Neurological Association designates this live activity for a maximum of 12.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Creditsᵀᴹ. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Completion of this accredited CME activity meets the expectations of an Accredited Safety or Quality Improvement Program (IA_PSPA_28) for the Merit-based Incentive Payment Program (MIPS).


Following the event, you will receive access to the evaluation. Please complete the online evaluation by 12/31/2024 to obtain CME credit. Those who complete it by 10/11/24 are entered to win a Starbucks Gift card. You will be provided with a certificate after completing the evaluation. If you have any questions, please contact the ANA's Education & Accreditation Manager, Jen Hurley at


There are no relevant relationships for this activity.